Home > Poems > My First Nonet!

My First Nonet!

“Nonet” or “Nonnet”? I’ve found both spellings. So no-one can decide how to spell it. That’s not a good start.

“My First Nonet.” Sounds like a starter product, like “My First Train Set” or “My First Grown-Up Underpants”.

But enough of this frivolity. A nonet (or nonnet) consists of nine lines. The first line contains nine syllables and you remove one syllable per line until you’re left with one on the ninth line. It doesn’t have to rhyme and each line can contain as many words as you like, as long as the number of syllables is correct.

I’d never heard of them until a couple of days ago when fellow blogger morrighansmuse inspired me with one of her own. I decided to give it a go, and here it is! It stopped scanning after line 3, but hey-ho. It’s probably not supposed to :-).

Rainforest

The greedy came with axes, chainsaws
Once a forest now a wasteland
Never more the verdant green
Broken stumps, scattered ’round
Nature’s beauty gone
Desolation
Nature lost
Broken
Dead

  1. May 27, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Very nice, I might just try my hand at one too!

    Like

    • May 27, 2013 at 11:38 am

      That would be cool – they’re quite challenging and something a bit different to try!

      Like

  2. May 27, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    You did it! I love it’s rhythm and its imagery is just so vivid. Great job, Draliman!

    Like

    • May 27, 2013 at 1:33 pm

      I’m glad you liked it! Although the structure sounded a bit daunting it was quite fun putting it together!

      Like

      • May 27, 2013 at 2:38 pm

        It can be daunting, but it sure brushes away those poetry cobwebs and gets us back on track 🙂 But it is fun to put together, that’s why I like writing them!

        Like

  3. May 28, 2013 at 7:23 am

    Very good dr Ali and thanks for the lesson 🙂

    Like

    • May 28, 2013 at 9:02 am

      You’re welcome! I thought I’d better explain as I’d certainly never heard of them before (though I’m not much of a poetry person to be honest and I’m sure poets know what they are) 🙂

      Like

  4. May 30, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    I think google ate my previous comment 😦

    What I wanted to stay awesome nonnet!! Never heard of this style before but it seems so much fun to be busy with! 🙂

    Like

    • May 30, 2013 at 7:20 pm

      I hate it when my comments get eaten 😦
      I’d never heard of these nonnet things before either (I suspect someone saw “sonnet” and thought they’d have a bit of fun), but it is great fun trying out different words until you get them to fit (and make sense!).

      Like

  5. June 5, 2013 at 4:25 pm

    Mr Draliman, need some input on a Nonet! Willing to take a look?
    Sent via my BlackBerry from Vodacom – let your email find you!

    Like

    • June 5, 2013 at 4:32 pm

      Of course! I’m not a nonet expert, mind!
      Where is it? If it’s pre-posting feel free to email me at my gmail.

      Like

  1. June 2, 2013 at 8:03 am
  2. June 4, 2013 at 11:41 am

Speak to me - I'd love to hear your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.