Home > Poems > Planet Earth

Planet Earth

We had a planet, called it home,
We killed the trees to make our throne.
We let our poisons touch the water,
Killing father, mother, daughter.
Our putrid smoke made stale the air,
Our planet’s beauty now laid bare.
Animals, plants, their day has past,
The human race? I am the last.

Categories: Poems Tags: ,
  1. August 21, 2011 at 8:27 am

    What you have written here are, I feel, the words that are in the majority of our hearts…

    The distant thoughts of our dormant consciousness’,
    It’s compassion and conscience that we blissfully ignore.
    In a world where we know better and yet feel impotent to change,
    We regret, and for all these thoughts and feelings we contain
    We are no better than that about which we complain.

    …perhaps we are all last together? And together we can change!

    Like

    • August 21, 2011 at 8:39 am

      Wise words. I feel we’re at a crossroads, and I hope we do change together and take the correct path, before it’s too late.

      Like

  2. October 14, 2011 at 9:10 am

    “We killed the trees to make our throne.” really nice sentiment and imagery.

    Keep posting,

    Dave

    Like

    • October 14, 2011 at 9:43 am

      Thanks!
      Poems are tricky (for me), but whenever something hits me I always scribble it down in the hopes I can form a full poem from it. I just hope none of the usually dire ends of my “environmental” poems ever come to pass…

      Like

  1. June 2, 2013 at 8:03 am

Speak to me - I'd love to hear your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.